Is someone annoying you on Google+, but you don’t want to resort to blocking him or her completely from your profile? Now there is an option to ignore what that person is posting to Google+.
“Ignoring someone is basically saying you’re just not interested,” Google’s Olga Wichrowska said in a Google+ post. “Maybe you don’t know them, or maybe you don’t want to see what they’re sharing.”
Ignoring a user will do three things. First, it will remove his posts from your “Incoming” stream. Second, you will no longer get notifications about his activity. And finally, ignoring someone will remove him from your Circles page. The user isn’t notified that he has been ignored.
Ignoring is different than blocking, though. A person can still see your stream and comment on it if you’re ignoring him. Blocking him will eliminate his posts from your stream, remove him from your circles and block him from seeing anything you post.
The addition of Ignore seems to be part of Google’s initiative to give users more control over their profiles and data. Facebook has been making moves to enhance user control as well. It recently overhauled its privacy features in an attempt to give users more control.
As seen on Mashable.com by